Reflections from Monica

GGCC Blog

Student Picture Nine years ago Monica was facing hard realities on Mfangano Island. As she recounts in her poem below, food was scarce, school was unlikely, and needs were coming from every direction. Yet praise God, in 2003 she found hope at GGCC! In a recent letter she wrote:

I am very happy for what Gethsemane community has made me to be. I have been transformed morally, spiritually, and even academically. I have learned a lot about life and the spirit of fighting on has made me be the person I am today. Each and everyday I tell God to open ways that when I graduate from high school I bring a change in our home.

Here is the poem she also included in that letter–where she candidly recounts the realities she faced before attending GGCC:

Fate in Mfangano Island by Monica

In streets of Mfangano Island
Children yawn and roar in…

View original post 106 more words

Leave a Reply

