Perseverance


“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “press on” has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race.” – Calvin Coolidge

They say it’s not how good you are, but how good you want to be.

They say it’s all about will power.

I agree.

When the world says, “Give up,” Hope whispers, “Try one more time.”

Hope. Man’s greatest strength and weakness at the same time.

People used to believe in the power of intelligence when it came to success in life. IQ was believed to be the determinant factor in the quality of one’s life. Then it kind of changed. Emotional intelligence was found to be more important.

Recently, though, we are beggining to understand that hope is what truly makes the difference.

The ability to believe with all your heart that your fortune will change, that you will become who you want to be, regardless of your situation today, regardless of how you’re feeling right now.

The ability to do what’s important, even when you don’t feel like it, because you hope that you’re efforts will pay off sometime in the future.

“Stubbornly persist, and you will find that the limits of your stubbornness go well beyond the stubbornness of your limits.” – Robert Brault

You are reading this post because I have been writing for almost 3 years. You are reading this post because I spent 2 of those years writing by myself, with no one to support or encourage me.

Actually, everyone (friend) told me to quit.

They told me to be realistic and just do what normal people do.

What do normal people do anyways?

They give up easily? They settle for less than they desire? Less than they deserve?

I don’t know, but if that is one of the components of being normal, call me whatever you like, but I am glad I’m not normal.

“When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.” – Franklin D. Roosevelt

When I first started writing, someone told me that I was either 19 or a retard. They said I’ll never make it as a writer.

A few more said kind of the same thing.

And, yes, I was 19 years old, and, yes, I was writing crap.

But guess what?

I didn’t give up.

No matter how hopeless everything seemed, I kept on going.

Even if it meant the end of me, even if it meant me starving to death, writing stuff that no one would ever read.

“Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after another.” – Walter Elliott

I failed and I failed and I failed. And I keep on failing. And I keep being told “no.” And I struggle to write, struggle to gather ideas, struggle for inspiration or motivation, and there are days when it seems as if all is lost…

Days when I don’t feel like writing. When I feel bored or lonely or whatever. Days when I feel depressed, tired, suicidal.

But guess what?

I laugh inside at all these feelings. Because underneath it all lies something, some force, some part of me that know it’s invincible.

A part of me that will never give up without a good fight.

One thought on “Perseverance

Leave a Reply

